BSZAYFGF0FGF2PFGX1SEM16X1SX2PROX7Guide · 9 min read·ownership

Class 1 vs Class 2 vs Class 3 e-bikes: what each means, and which bikes we sell in each

Class 1 is pedal assist to 20 mph, Class 2 adds a throttle, Class 3 assists to 28 mph. We sell no Class 1 bikes, ten stated Class 2 bikes including every Macfox, five Class 3 Heybikes, four commuters with no stated class, and dirt bikes that fall outside the system entirely.

Close view of an e-bike handlebar with a thumb throttle at the edge of a wet city bike lane at dusk
Close view of an e-bike handlebar with a thumb throttle at the edge of a wet city bike lane at dusk
Explainer · All models
Class 1 vs Class 2 vs Class 3 e-bikes: what each means, and which bikes we sell in each
AUG 2026·9 min read·Fits: X1S X7 M16 X2PRO BSZAY FGF0 FGF2P FGX1SE

The short version

Class 1 is pedal assist only to 20 mph. Class 2 adds a throttle, still to 20 mph. Class 3 is pedal assist to 28 mph, with any throttle held to 20. Of the bikes we sell, none is sold as Class 1, ten are stated Class 2 (all five Macfox, the Heybike Titan and Mars 3.0, and the Freego Shotgun Lite F0, Shotgun Prime F2 Pro and X1 SE), and five are stated Class 3 (Heybike Hybrid, Venus, Ranger 3.0 Pro, Saturn and Ranger S 2.0). Four commuters have no class on their spec sheet, and every electric dirt bike we sell has no class at all because it is not an e-bike.

Most US states sort electric bicycles into three classes, and the class decides where you can ride and whether a helmet or a minimum age applies. Underneath the state system is the federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle: working pedals, a motor under 750 W, and less than 20 mph on motor power alone. Below is every bike on our floor mapped to the class its maker states. Where a maker does not state one, we say so; we do not assign a class from the numbers, because it is a legal claim, not a spec.

What do Class 1, Class 2 and Class 3 actually mean?

Class Motor engages Assist cuts out at Throttle Typical access
Class 1 Only while pedaling 20 mph None Bike lanes and most multi-use paths
Class 2 Pedaling or throttle 20 mph Yes, to 20 mph Usually the same as Class 1
Class 3 Only while pedaling for assist above 20 mph 28 mph If fitted, limited to 20 mph Roads and bike lanes; often barred from paths, minimum age and helmet rules in many states

Speed pedelec rules differ by state, and cities and trail managers layer their own rules on top. Our where you can actually ride guide goes through the state-by-state picture; this article is about which of our bikes lands where.

Which of our bikes are Class 1?

None. Every e-bike we sell ships with a throttle, which rules out Class 1 as delivered. Several Heybike models let you switch the bike to a lower class in the app (the Hybrid and Venus switch between Class 2 and 3), but no maker we carry sells a bike as Class 1.

Which of our bikes are Class 2?

Ten bikes, all with a throttle and a 20 mph ceiling as delivered.

Bike Motor Throttle / assist ceiling Unlock? Price today
Macfox X1S 500 W, 750 W peak 20 / 20 mph None $1,399
Macfox X1S x Bs.zay 500 W, 750 W peak 20 / 20 mph None $1,399
Macfox X7 500 W, 750 W peak 20 / 20 mph None from $1,599
Macfox M16 500 W, 750 W peak 20 / 20 mph None $1,099
Macfox X2 Pro 750 W, 1,000 W peak 20 / 20 mph None $2,199
Heybike Titan 750 W, 1,500 W peak 20 / 20 mph Up to 28 mph via the Heybike app $1,399
Heybike Mars 3.0 750 W, 1,400 W peak 20 / 20 mph App-limitable $1,199
Freego Shotgun Lite F0 500 W, 1,000 W peak 20 mph throttle, adjustable to 28 on assist Off-road mode for private property $1,299
Freego Shotgun Prime F2 Pro 750 W, 1,400 W peak 20 mph throttle, adjustable to 28 on assist Off-road mode for private property $1,299
Freego X1 SE 750 W nominal 20 mph throttle, 28 mph on assist None stated $1,599

Two notes. Macfox is the strictest of the three: 20 mph on throttle and assist alike, no unlock offered, UL 2849 certified on every bike, which is why our Macfox comparison never argues about speed. Freego's Shotgun bikes are sold as Class 2 but publish a 28 mph pedal-assist adjustment, which is a Class 3 speed; ride them at the setting your state allows. The Freego Flash F3 Pro Max is listed by Freego as Class 2 at 20 mph, but with two 750 W motors it sits above the 750 W federal bicycle ceiling, so we do not file it in this table and its product page says the same.

Which of our bikes are Class 3?

Five Heybike commuters, each rated to 28 mph on pedal assist with the throttle held to 20 mph.

Bike Motor Throttle / assist ceiling Switchable? Price today
Heybike Hybrid 750 W, 1,400 W peak 20 / 28 mph Class 2/3 in the app $1,699
Heybike Venus 750 W, 1,400 W peak 20 / 28 mph Class 2/3 in the app $1,499
Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro 750 W, 1,400 W peak 20 / 28 mph App-limitable $1,399
Heybike Saturn 1,000 W hub 20 / 28 mph App-limitable; Heybike lists an off-road unlock to 40 mph $999
Heybike Ranger S 2.0 750 W, 1,400 W peak 20 / 28 mph Spec sheet lists Class 3 $1,099

The Saturn's 1,000 W rated hub is above the 750 W federal definition even though Heybike sells it as a Class 3 bike; the same caution as the Freego F3 Pro Max applies. Our Heybike vs Macfox guide is largely a Class 3 vs Class 2 comparison in practice.

Which of our bikes have no stated class?

Four commuters. The Heybike Alpha (500 W mid-drive, rated 28 mph), Heybike Cityscape 2.0 (500 W, no published top speed), Heybike Mars 2.5 (750 W, rated 28 mph) and Freego City Flow A1 (500 W, rated 28 mph) carry no class on their makers' spec sheets. Their numbers would suggest Class 3, but a class is a legal claim, so we leave the field blank on the product page and here. We have asked Freego for the A1's rating.

Why are electric dirt bikes not in any class?

Because they are not electric bicycles. The Heybike Villain (4,160 W peak, 45 mph), the Yozma IN 10 and IN 10 Pro, the Coswheel R6000 and R19, the Freego X, Nova and F3 Pro Max off-road modes, the 79BIKE, 78 Forged and Y-VOLT machines, and every MotoTec electric in our dirt bike collection either have no pedals, exceed 750 W, exceed 20 mph on the motor, or all three. They are off-road vehicles for private land, OHV parks and trails that allow them, and no class label makes them street legal. Our e-dirt speed guide and the under-$2,000 dirt bike roundup cover that side of the store.

Which class should you buy?

Class 2 if you want the widest legal access and a throttle: every Macfox, the Titan and Mars 3.0, and the Freego Shotguns. Class 3 if your commute is long or fast and your state allows 28 mph bikes on the roads you use: the Hybrid, Venus, Ranger 3.0 Pro, Saturn and Ranger S 2.0. If you are unsure which your city allows on a given path, the app-switchable Hybrid and Venus let you run Class 2 there and Class 3 on the road.

Key takeaways

Class 1: none sold. Class 2: 10 bikes, all five Macfox included. Class 3: 5 Heybikes. Unstated: Alpha, Cityscape 2.0, Mars 2.5, City Flow A1. Above the federal 750 W line while sold as e-bikes: Freego F3 Pro Max and Heybike Saturn; check your state. Dirt bikes: no class, off-road only. Every bike ships free; bike returns are 14 days with a 25% restocking fee.

Questions, answered

What is the difference between Class 1, Class 2 and Class 3 e-bikes?
Class 1 assists only while pedaling and stops at 20 mph. Class 2 adds a throttle, also capped at 20 mph. Class 3 assists while pedaling up to 28 mph, and any throttle is limited to 20 mph. States and cities decide where each class may ride.
Is a Class 2 e-bike street legal?
In most US states, yes: a Class 2 e-bike is treated as a bicycle, with no license, registration or insurance. Trail and path access varies by city and land manager, so check locally before riding off the road.
Which e-bikes we sell are Class 3?
Five Heybike commuters: the Hybrid, Venus, Ranger 3.0 Pro, Saturn and Ranger S 2.0. All are rated to 28 mph on pedal assist with the throttle held to 20 mph, and the Hybrid and Venus can be switched to Class 2 in the app.
Can a Class 2 e-bike be unlocked to go faster?
Some can, and doing it changes its legal status. Macfox offers no unlock on any bike. Heybike's Titan can be raised to 28 mph in its app, and Freego's Shotgun bikes list a 28 mph assist adjustment plus an off-road mode. Ride at the setting your state allows.
Is an electric dirt bike a Class 3 e-bike?
No. Electric dirt bikes like the Heybike Villain or Coswheel R6000 have no pedals, exceed 750 W and exceed 20 mph on motor power, so they fall outside every e-bike class. They are off-road vehicles for private land and OHV areas.
Why don't you list a class for the Heybike Alpha?
Because Heybike's spec sheet does not state one. Its 500 W mid-drive and 28 mph rating look like Class 3, but a class is a legal claim rather than a spec, so we leave it unassigned rather than guess.
Written at the MotorHabit bench. We sell every bike named here; specs and prices come from our own product pages, and prices are today's (September 2026) and can move. Questions on fitment: ask the fitment team, answered within 24 hours.
MotorHabit
Fitment and installs

Every number in this guide came off our own bike, our own scale, and our own torque wrench. When a spec comes from the manufacturer instead, we say so.